Light Lunch Idea for Mom

Mother’s Day is right around the corner and it’s the time when we are able to go above and beyond for the women in our lives who always go above and beyond for us.  There are so many things you could do for her to make mom feel extra special and if your mother is anything like mine, you always have a hard time figuring out what to do for the woman who has everything she needs.  On special occasions my sisters and I like to do something for our mom that will make her happy and have her chatting with her friends about it for weeks to come.  I made my mama a simple, yet beautiful lunch and, ya’ll, she was happier than a zoombug (don’t ask, I’m a country girl).

For Mother’s Day why not invite your mom over for a lunch and conversation.  I cleaned my house, lit some candles, created a light and fresh menu full of my mom’s favorites and called her over to enjoy it with me.  On the menu there was tilapia with a really bright citrus salsa, heirloom tomato and asparagus salad and pureed bananas (or faux ice cream) for dessert.

lunch 4 mom (1)

 

Make sure you get a good tilapia filet from a local fishmonger instead of the frozen kind (only for this special occasion). I wanted it to have a light, crisp taste so I seasoned the fish with salt and pep, lemon juice, lemon slices and sprigs of lemon thyme.  After it was cooked I garnished with more fresh lemon wedges and lemon thyme.

lunch 4 mom (6)

 

Next I made a citrus salsa only because that’s what was in season, so use whatever you have that’s fresh and pretty.  I used sections of oranges, grapefruits and lemons, lemon thyme leaves, onions and a small bit of garlic.  It made such a wonderful addition to the fish because it layered on flavors without adding too much heaviness to the dish.  I served it on the side just in case mother dear didn’t want it on her tilapia (but she loved it).

lunch 4 mom (7)

 

I had the most fun ever shopping for this meal because I got to pick out really beautiful fish filets, cut herbs from my own terrace garden and select some really awesome beefsteak tomatoes.  I went to the grocery store and couldn’t find the tomatoes so I went to a trendy fresh food market and they had only two very small ones.  The store worker near me saw my sad-wittle-face and offered his assistance, went to the back of the store to search and emerged victorious!!!  He brought out a nice, full box of beefsteak tomatoes for me to choose from and it was great because I had never had them before.  They were gorgeous honey… let me tell you!  Anyway, I also picked up some asparagus and a block of feta cheese for my salad.  The ingredients are so simply that you really just need to plop them on a plate and drizzle something equally as delicious on top.  I blanched the asparagus, cut up the tomatoes, sprinkled over some feta cheese and added salt and pep to them.  There was just one thing left to do so again I went to my trusty terrace garden for a handful of sweet basil, blended it with good Spanish olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pep and drizzled it over the salad.

lunch 4 mom (8)

 

This menu made for such a beautiful and colorful plate.

lunch 4 mom (4)

 

With such a light lunch I felt that dessert was in order.  My mother, with her healthy lifestyle, and me, with my lactose intolerance, meant we couldn’t have real ice cream, one of our favorite desserts, so I made an alternative.  I blended frozen bananas, cinnamon to taste, real vanilla beans from Madagascar, blonde organic coconut palm sugar and unsweetened vanilla almond milk to make a delicious ice “dream” dessert.  I just garnished it with a small squirt of whipped cream and a sprinkling of cinnamon.  It was to die for and no one missed the calories.

lunch 4 mom (2)

 

I hope this helps you figure out what to do for mom on this upcoming Mother’s Day or at least inspires your next meal.  #SharingIsCaring #ShareThisPost #SoulEpicure #FoodForTheSoul

 

lunch 4 mom (5)

One thought on “Light Lunch Idea for Mom

  1. Awesomely delicious looking lunch — and I’m a vegetarian! 🙂 Have you ever thought of publishing a healthy eating cookbook? Maybe you should. All the best and God bless you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

