rice and spinach casserole

We had a potluck at work and I needed something quick and simple to take as my contribution.  It needed to feed about 28 people at the most even though I knew not everyone would have some.  What’s better than a casserole for potlucks?  I just winged it so you can change out some of these ingredients if you wanted to.
I started out cooking my rice.  I use boil-in-bag rice for most things so if you actually cook bagged rice then, first of all, good for you! You can use any kind of rice you want, even wild, jasmin or basmati if you really want something different. (About 4 cups total)
Take your favorite ‘cream of’ condensed soup.  I used potato and chicken but it really does not matter which ones you use. (About a can and a half)
I like to shred my own cheese.  Not only is the cheese softer but it is also cheaper to just do it myself. (One full 8 oz block)
Some fresh baby spinach roughly chopped but you could also use frozen spinach.  If you do use frozen then you will want to thaw it out and squeeze out the excess water. (Used the whole bag)
For some creaminess I use mayo and sour cream but here you could substitute the sour cream with Greek yogurt if you would like. (A cup of each)
I just dump it all in the pan (no need to mess up another bowl).
Just a quick tip.  In order to shred the cheese a little better, pop it in the freezer while you prepare everything else.
Then spread the mixture out evenly.  Mix just a tiny bit of the shredded cheese into the mixture for extra creaminess. (Just about a 1/4 of a cup of the cheese, or a small handful)
Throw the shredded cheese on top and put it in a 350 degree oven for 30 to 45 mins.  At this point, you could cover it and pop it into the fridge overnight and cook it the next day.
Ohhhhh…. Ahhhhh… Bubbly!  Should feed 15 extremely hungry people to maybe 20+ potluckers with lots of other food to choose from.
***MISSING***
One large pan of spinach and rice casserole.  Last seen bubbling away in my oven.  Next thing you know, it disappeared.  If you have seen any part of this casserole, please comment below.  Thank you in advance for your help.
Leave a Reply

